About The House
Behr House is the essence of “old and new”. The main house is comprised of the small pioneer stone and log portion built in the mid-to-late 1800s, while the newer part hosts a Great Room and three other guestrooms, including an expansive suite with 1900's reclaimed log cabin walls. Then, there is the 1860's stone barn with its 20-inch thick, rough-cut limestone walls bearing the patina of over one-and-a half centuries of weathering with a small living area, kitchenette, loft bedroom, modern bathroom addition, and its own private courtyard.
The oldest part of the house is attributed to Friedrich Behr, born in Hanover, Germany who arrived at the port of New York City in November 1851. He and his wife, Sophie, had four children: Anna, Emma, Herman and William, all born in Texas. They bought the 50 acres December 1858 for the price of $450 and three packs of shingles then in the mid-to-late 1800's built the small stone and log pioneer structure. One of the sons, Herman, and his wife Caroline acquired this property from his parents March 1890. They sold 200 acres that had the house on it to Emil and Ellen Dietz in 1924 and it remained in family hands until sold to long-time Fredericksburg residents, Dr. Charles and Loretta Schmidt in 1973. After removing 20 bales of hay that had been stored in the house, the Schmidts proceeded to renovate the dilapidated barn and old house, then added a two-story wing. In the early 1980's they were able to offer the old barn as the first B&B guesthouse in Fredericksburg. In 2004 the Fletchers purchased the property and continued on with renovations and high-end updates including the addition of a 1900's wood banister in the main house imported from an English manor and custom mahogany cabinetry in bathrooms. Fast forward to 2019 and new owners, Shelley and Jim, have renovated the historic property to get it to where they want it for the B&B- painting, new hardwoods in the guestrooms, new carpeting, and extensive landscaping/hardscaping have added a brand new patio, pavilion, stone garden borders, as well as, a front porch cover and courtyard to the old stone barn.
About Your Hosts
Your hosts Shelley, Jim, and their daughter Katie, or more specifically Shelley, are fulfilling a 30-year long dream of owning and operating a B&B. It all began when living in England when Jim was based there while a pilot in the Air Force. They traveled extensively during that 3-year tour of duty and stayed at numerous B&Bs and country inns in the small villages and charming English countryside. They experienced the essence of being B&B travelers; the quaint guestroom, the warm and cozy main gathering area, breakfast served in a common area amongst all the other guests, and a kind and gracious innkeeper.
Once returning stateside, their preference was to continue choosing B&Bs for their travel stays, whether home or abroad. Jim continued his aviation career and Shelley worked in the hospitality industry for 27 years in order to gain experience to one day own that B&B that she dreamed of.
Shelley, Jim and Katie first saw the 1348 Royal Oaks Loop property when it was on the market fall of 2018. In their mind, it was ideal as a home as well as their future B&B. The timing wasn’t quite right, however and the property went off the market. But a year later the deal was done and the family moved from their Austin home and began 5 months of renovations, landscaping, and general sprucing up.
Shelley and Jim had hoped to open for business in April 2020, but unfortunately the coronavirus hit and put everyone’s life on hold. They will be working to put all the finishing touches in place, so that when life returns to normal, their door will be open to welcome guests.